Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Mechanical

Eric2575

This is my first attempt at a car. Had to take a break from modeling my T-Rex.

Didn't know where to start, so I started to model the view most people would see if they ever got close to one in real life. It shouldn't be hard to figure out which car this is - I hope :D

And yeah, I know the lighting sucks.

S7_Web_Rear_Profile.jpg

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

are you going for a realistic look? If so, the texturing will need some work

Yes, I would like to get something close to realistic. I saw a car once that Ives helped with the paint reflectivity, and it looked awesome. Ives, if you read this, your help is always welcome.

As far as texturing, are you referring to the rear grille? That's just a quick cookie cut. Other than that, there is no texturing on the model yet.

The specularity looked really good when I did a quick render, but it got pretty diffused when I goofed around with multi-pass, buffers and so on. I just wanted to see what some of the different options would do to the scene.

• 2 weeks later...

Ives, if you read this, your help is always welcome.

First, and by far the most important aspect to consider, is your car needs something to reflect. With nothing to reflect, you could tweak forever without getting anywhere. Setup a sky hemisphere onto which you will project an environment map and set its ambiance to 100%. Then we can start looking at the other adjustments.

Alternately, I might suggest setting the surface properties to the following:

diffuse colour = 128, 128, 128

specular colour = 255, 255, 255

specular size = 60%

specular intensity = 60%

and use the changing shape of the specular highlights (which you can view in real time as you move the surface) to find unwanted creases.