Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

There seems to be So much to learn

thumperness

I can quickly get overwhelmed by wanting to know how to do everything in A:M. So I have finally decided to study modeling.

I am by no means an artist, but that is no reason not to know how everything works as far as splinemanship et al. This focus will also include creating phonems(sp) for speech. I have some models, from the extras DVD, with which I really want to do some lip. sinc.

I guess I'll start with making my set of primatives, how to make holes in things, etc...So you are gonna see alot of examples and questions of how to do it better.

I'm going back to Jeff Canton's tutorials and then moving on to whatever else I can find.

I want to make friends with this so I can fix what I don't like and can create the mechanical stuff I have in my head.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Thumperness.......Well......any complete 3d application is huge. Lots to learn indeed. Sometimes it seems very daunting indeed. My approach has been kind of semi focused on modeling and doing very simple things that hit on a topic i see in forums sometimes or just a few objects that might someday be in a scene I have in head to make.

Recently been working with AI files and trying to use some of these object shapes into scenes I may someday use. I do save the models I make that are decent and save all my AI shapes files for later use.

I also recently worked a little on a own walk cycle and boy that was tricky business ....

Bottom line...I feel good just working on things but sometimes feel the same way ....wow there is a lot to cover and learn!!

I remember feeling the same way (and still do sometimes.)

Like any big task, the key is to tackle it a little bit at a time. Then it starts to get cumulative and doesn't seem quite as overwhelming.