Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

weird question

knipple

Hello all,

I been using AM for a few weeks now, gone through most all the tuts except the more comlex ones. Have a question, I was creating a model after the "Thom" model just to work on my modeling and the 5 point patch technique(and also to practice attaching arms, etc.) It was going well, I saved the project, all looked well in wireframe and shaded mode. I saved and closed the project, went to grab a drink and came back a bit later and opened.

Here is what I saw...

model.jpg

Evertime I close it now and reopen, I get stranger and stranger things happening to the model, am I doing something strange?!? It weird that it looks different and more messed up everytime I open it.

All I have done is create a simple spline, lathe, and extrude to make the body. Then attach the arm using 5 point patches.

Yes i'm still very new to this program, but Ive done most of the tutes without a hitch, just found this wierd..:)

Any idea?!? Thanks!

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ahhh, hrm I will see when I get home if the mirror mode might be turned on somehow, maybe I have clicked it randomly, thanks for your input!! Much appreciated :)

Welcome to the forum, knipple! I second Mark's opinion about Mirror Mode. post your model so we can take a look.

Yeah it was just a simple extrude, ive made sure the 5pt patches were legit. Model rendered fine, looked fine, just when I opened it did that wierd thing. Its no big deal, its such a simple model I dont mind starting over, was just curious :)

Just to make sure: There are no internal patches somewhere in there, right?

See you

*Fuchur*

• Hash Fellow
but it *seems* like it had to do with CP's on top of each other where I thought there was just one.

One way to do that is to have extrude offsets set to zero, do an extrude and then forget that you have done an extrude.