sprockets Live Answer Time Demo Tinkering Gnome's Sparkler PRJ Shelton's new Char: Hans It's just donuts by ItsJustMe 3D Printing Free model: USS Midnight Rodger Reynolds' 1950s Street Car
sprockets
Recent Posts | Unread Content
Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Boycott the Obama Poster contest

Gerry

The Obama campaign is sponsoring a poster contest to promote their jobs program. But they are offering no payment, artists are required to sign over all rights, and the three winners get a print of their own poster signed by Obama, which is worthless to them unless they sell it. Yes, they would have to sell their "prize" to gain anything at all.

I would encourage anyone even remotely considering entering, to boycott this contest.

I posted the following comment on the contest website (http://www.barackobama.com/artworks/creative-brief):

Dear President Obama:

As a professional artist I have to say I am shocked and disappointed at the poster contest you are sponsoring, asking artists to submit work and sign over all rights for free. The fact that it is to promote a "jobs program" only makes it more tone-deaf and disheartening.

It is not just the poor timing, in the midst of a terrible economic climate. This would be a poor idea anytime. Artists, like any other professional group, do what they do for payment. It's called "making a living".

I voted for you but I must say, on top of all the previous disappointments with this administration, this is the final nail in the coffin. I would say that the callous intent behind this program leaves me speechless, but believe me I am doing everything I can to encourage my fellow artists to boycott this "contest".

With great disappointment,

Gerard Mooney

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Uhhh...at first, I see the irony of course, and feel the outrage. However, this brings up some questions for me: