Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Project Management

Simon Edmondson

I asked a few months ago about file structures for people working on a project and was very appreciative of the responses received. I'm trying to plan a project which I hope to spend next year working on, could anyone kindly point me to a resource for overseeing the running of a complete project? I have no real experience in this area and have always relied on memory and catching up when needed. I'd like to try to do it better this time. Its not so much the particular details of individual areas such as models but the overall structure of a project and how to keep track of it as it unfolds?

Any help gratefully received. Thank you.

regards

simon

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

• Admin

This is a tough question to answer because the best Project Management tool is going to be the one that best fits with your approach. This could be as simple as using a notepad or as complex as you want it to be (i.e. for use in broad based collaborations).

My feeling on this is that since it is a first time launching out into the field of project management you may want to consider some of this effort as Research and Development for future projects. In other words, what you learn in managing this project will be of great assistance to you for subsequent efforts.

Having said this I remain stuck between the ultra simple of simply writing everything out onto notebooks and taking the plunge toward asset management tools such as Tactic. Exploring a few of the available tools will certainly help you refine your approach to project management.

A midrange solution between notepads and huge software programs is a simple spreadsheet. With a spreadsheet you gain the benefit of search and data organization capabilities that you can't by writing on notepads.