Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Children's book illustration

josema

Hi!

This is my first time posting in this section, or any section for that matter. Anyway I thought I share one of my most recent illustrations using A.M.. Please let me know what you think, and any suggestions ya'll might have.

Thanx for your interest.

post-8-1075398662.jpg

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I like. I like a lot.

It seems you've hit an interesting mix between a textured, CGI look, and a more simple flat-color illustrative one. The transition between the clean, basic clouds and sky at top, and the textured water/rock at bottom is a great technique.

Personally, I'd love to see more-

-M@

Hi - oh yes - I like like it alot also - very cute - love the background, love the models, color scheme

some suggestions, composition wise:

the far tree is confusing, appears to be part of the front tree - maybe move it a bit? to break illusion, or change color to darker?, or change camera angle some?. separate the bug a bit more from the background, his silohouette(sp?) gets a bit lost. perhaps add some more foreground interest, or items on tall hill (smaller plants, bugs,)- for some side activities extraneous to the story...

"hot spot on mushroom" is a bit shiny, maybe tone down the specularity?

As I said very cute..thanks for posting - Nancy

Very nice elements and variety, but now I wonder what is the main focus. The usage and color of the pond is very clever. It instantly draws your focal point down.

The mushroom house gets all of the attention here. The centipede is a bit subdued in coloration and seems less significant and the eye is drawn back to the mushroom. If that's the intent you did well. If the centipede is the target. Then perhaps using a more saturated or contrasting color could help guide the eye.