Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

My BMW 330ci

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i have an idea, one thing that works in other car tutorials is having a 100% absolute white(or ambiance 100%) rectangle above the car as a reflection... though make sure its out of the cameras view though. i think you need more lights, try adding lower intensity lights to lighten the shadows, i would recommend all klieg lights, a key light, and 3 other lights to lighten the shadows. make sure those lights don't cast shadows...

The render is going as I type this. I have included the "down"shot, as well as the white rectangle.

This was an old render I tried using Radiosity. And it needs a lot of work. What do you all think?

bmwtest1.jpg

Excellent work! Are you using AM long? The blue floor and blue car makes for alot of blue! :D

I have been using AM for a little under 2 years. My job uses it, so I do projects on the side to improve my own skill.

now all it needs is a metallic look(or a gloss paint color), more specularity it looks too plastic, the rims need to be more reflective (there not hubcaps). also 100%reflectivity and specularity in the lights...also make the specularity color white or a very light color...

http://dessga.cgsociety.org/gallery/

http://rav.cgsociety.org/gallery/414838

heres a good car render goal...use this as a reference...

now all it needs is a metallic look(or a gloss paint color), more specularity it looks too plastic, the rims need to be more reflective

Ok I made the changes and am rendering again... Thanks for the comments. I admit that your comments have all been positive improvements. Thanks again for your help.

Time to stretch your skillset... This car needs Image Based Lighting (IBL) - not Photon Mapping (radiosity). Marcos (Xtaz) Rezende refined the look quite well for his car renders.