sprockets Making and Using Drop-On Poses TinkeringGnome's Atomic Rings PRJ 2001 Star Gate effect in A:M with PRJ Comparison of AO and Radiosity Renders Animated Commercial by Soulcage Tralfaz's Lost In Space Robot Rodger Reynold's Architectural WIP
sprockets
Recent Posts | Unread Content
Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Make Holes?

makeideas.com

Hi All;

I have been using AM for about two years and love it. But, even with all the fun, I have not been able to figure out how to make a hole in a compliated 3D shape.

So, if I wanted to make a hole in a shere, or a rod (at a right angle). How would I do that ?

From the other posts, some say I should make the hole first, then build around that.... but that can't work for the intended applcation.

In AutoCAD, it uses a 'filet' where everything on the selected side of the shape is deleted, leaving the balance; thus creating a hole, or window....

Thank you for your efforts. !

KM

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

AM has booleans which cut out a shape at render time. It's not really a substitute to making the mesh, but it can get you out of a "hole" (pun intended). All you do is make your hole shape as a solid (putting it in the right place in the "to be cut" shape) and then assign it to a bone. In the bone options, there's a boolean setting to cut out the shape.

I would read about booleans in the technical reference.

Sometimes it is very time consuming to actually build those "holes" in a complex or even simple object. A boolean is a little tricky to set up (uses bones and named groups) but in some cases can produce the results needed and is quicker in the long run to create.

Keep in mind booleans do not effect the actual mesh. They are sort of a cheat that is really only seen in the render. I have used them in the past very effectively. It all depends on how critical the "holes" are and how much they "interact" with everything else going on.