sprockets Shelton's new Char: Hans It's just donuts by ItsJustMe 3D Printing Free model: USS Midnight Rodger Reynolds' 1950s Street Car Madfox's Pink Floyd Video Tinkering Gnome's Elephant
sprockets
Recent Posts | Unread Content
Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

In Memoriam: Carrie Fisher

Roger

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Sadly, we've just come to that time in our lives when the people we remember from our youth are aging and dying. Last year was really tough for us Star Trek fans. We lost 23 Trek related souls (including Leonard Nimoy and Grace Lee Whitney ...and Nichelle Nichols had a stroke.)

I remember looking up the Births/Deaths for 1986 (the year I graduated HS) and being floored by the number of high profile deaths (Cary Grant, Jimmy Cagney, Donna Reed, Frank Herbert, Ray Milland, Otto Preminger, Howard da Silva, Broderick Crawford, Georgia O'Keefe, Gordon MacRae, Wallis Simpson, Robert Alda, Alan Jay Lerner, Sterling Hayden, Benny Goodman, Marlin Perkins, Kate Smith, Rudy Vallee, Murray Hamilton, Dar Robinson, Vincent Minnelli, Ted Knight, Frank Nelson, Hal B. Wallis, Keenan Wynn, Forrest Tucker, Paul Frees, Roger C. Carmel, Jerry Colonna, Scatman Crothers, Desi Arnaz, Elsa Lanchester, and Lloyd Haynes.)

We've certainly had more high profile people die in a single year, but it's happening to "our" people now.

• *A:M User*

Sadly, we've just come to that time in our lives when the people we remember from our youth are aging and dying. Last year was really tough for us Star Trek fans. We lost 23 Trek related souls (including Leonard Nimoy and Grace Lee Whitney ...and Nichelle Nichols had a stroke.)