sprockets Shelton's new Char: Hans It's just donuts by ItsJustMe 3D Printing Free model: USS Midnight Rodger Reynolds' 1950s Street Car Madfox's Pink Floyd Video Tinkering Gnome's Elephant
sprockets
Recent Posts | Unread Content
Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

flour sack practice.

AMkyle

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

• Hash Fellow

It turns out that flour sacks are very hard to rig satisfactorily in CG, I think because the "body" is so big in comparison to the "legs" and "arms". So while animating a sack is almost a beginner exercise in 2D, it's quite an advanced topic in 3D.

That said, I think your sack needs to scrunch down (anticipate) before he leaps up. That's how he gets his mass moving to toss himself into he air.

As an animation teacher, I appreciate the great benefit and as well as the deep frustration of animating a flour sack in 3D. A short while back I took it upon myself to put together a small library of basic characters for my students to use for class exercises and a flour sack was one of the characters I tackled. Yes. They are hard. Unfortunately, I never completed it to my own satisfaction in time for this academic year, but the concept still chews on my brain from time to time, waiting for a day when my proficiency with Animation Master matches my ambition.

Two suggestions for you:

1. Rigging. A sack of flour doesn't actually have bones, so when you rig one in 3D you'll constantly encounter problems with the sack looking too rigid. A good way to soften the effect of your rig is to use minimal bones and liberal tweaks with smart skinning. If you haven't worked with smart skins before, check out the tutorial in TAO A:M manual that either came with your CD or can be downloaded from the Hash site.