Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Bender from Futurama

I am currently working on Bender from Futurama. I am still very new to AM and don't know much about complicated modeling. Which is why I started with Bender, he's mainly lathes and extrudes. What I need help on is his feet (I have figured out all of my other questions). The issue Im having with his feet is that when I try to put a surface over the bottoms it warps the rest of the foot-cup (pic 2 below). I have tried extruding the bottom circle and then making it smaller, but that makes "smooth" lines which bows out the bottom of the foot.

Any help would be much appreciated

Bender.gif

Benderfeet.gif

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I have tried extruding the bottom circle and then making it smaller, but that makes "smooth" lines which bows out the bottom of the foot.

Any help would be much appreciated

Extrude he bottoms of the feet, then "peak" the edges, selecting the vertical splines that create the bottoms of the feet. Easiest way is to select the bottom-of-the-foot geometry, then press "p" on your keyboard. This will peak the whole bottom of the foot, including the edges. click on one of the horizontal edges, press ",". this will select the lathed spline. un-peak this spline; it's the tool button that looks like a parabola (i don't recall the shortcut key for smoothing splines at this hour of the morning)

Good work thus far!

Thanks for the advice, however (unless I did something wrong) I don't think it will work.

Benderfoot.gif

I did your method on the left side of the foot. I wasn't able to select the lathe line because it is vertical, so I just selected each of the CPs while holding Shift and then hit O. The right side is peaked, but notice the blockyness of it. I am wanting (an it may not be possible) to have the curvature of the left cup, with the flatness of the right bottom.