sprockets Shelton's new Char: Hans It's just donuts by ItsJustMe 3D Printing Free model: USS Midnight Rodger Reynolds' 1950s Street Car Madfox's Pink Floyd Video Tinkering Gnome's Elephant
sprockets
Recent Posts | Unread Content
Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Studying a shot?

robcat2075

• Hash Fellow

On another forum someone asked how to "study" a shot

I've been animating on and off for about five years now and i thought that i was pretty good. while surfing the web i came across this amazing acting piece that another animator had done and i found myself dumb founded. i [couldn't] understand how he did it . so i thought to myself that i would break it down and study it. while trying to do just that i realized i have no idea on how to analyze a scene well enough to learn how he was able to create such a beautiful scene. My question to you is how do you go about studying a scene? are you looking for the key frames and breakdowns? do you take one part of the body and track it through the whole scene? do you look at the timing and spacing from frame to frame? I've never been so over whelmed and confused. looking forward to hearing your responses. thank you guys for taking the time to read this.

Here was my response...

At AnimationMentor they told us it's better to study live action shots than to study animated shots. You don't want to be re-creating other animators' mannerisms if you can help it.

None-the-less there are some things you can ask yourself about any shot, live or animated...

-What is the goal of the character? What are you seeing getting done that advances the story?

-How does the character visibly change to show thought or action?

-What are the main poses and changes of appearance the character goes through to show you what he is thinking or doing? When a character comes to a hold is an obvious pose but some poses are extremes that are passed through and not paused at. They define the motion of the action without being a stopping point.