sprockets Shelton's new Char: Hans It's just donuts by ItsJustMe 3D Printing Free model: USS Midnight Rodger Reynolds' 1950s Street Car Madfox's Pink Floyd Video Tinkering Gnome's Elephant
sprockets
Recent Posts | Unread Content
Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Inline Speed Skater Model

This is my first attempt at a humanoid model. It's intended for a training video. My rationale for creating a crystalline skater was to make the lines and outline as clearly visible as possible (I also thought it would be easier. I don't think it was. I'll have to model a realistic character to know for sure.)

He'll eventually have hands, eye balls, and ears (I hope.)

I'm posting him as is because I have several specific concerns, but I would appreciate any and all comments and suggestions.

1) I wanted him to be interesting and well defined, but not too distracting or grotesque. What's your initial impression; is he just too weird?

2) I've included a couple of images of the splines. Can you tell from these if he's animatable? (Is that a word? It's not in my dictionary.)

3) The helmet was fine until I put it on his head. I used boolean cutters to create the holes in the white area of the helmet. Unfortunately, they have to project completely through the surface they're cutting. When I place the helmet so it looks like it's sitting snuggly on his head, the cutters cut through his skull. I've been trying to create another version of the helmet by stitching all the holes into the mess, er, mesh, but it's been very time consuming and, after several attempts, I'm not sure it will be successful. Is there a way to specify that you don't want a cutter to cut a particular surface?

I haven't had any artistic training or experience and I've never displayed any artistic talent in the past--I'm amazed when my efforts result in something recognizable. So, I'm open to all suggestions.

QuickTime Spinning Skater (3.0MB)

Windows Media Video Spinning Skater (2.1MB)