Hash, Inc. Forums

action file variables

DrPhibes

I have been working with A:M to create motion profiles for animatronics. Successfully I programed the animatronics for some pieces in Las Vegas last year, writing our own app to help translate to our controllers. You can see some of our process here.

I am still working on refining this process and I was hoping someone could point me to some documentation of what all the switches are in an .ACT file or a .MDL file so I can better create some of the tools I need. I have looked on the FTP and at the SDK materials, but I could not find some plain language materials describing all of the syntax of the files. I am not a programmer by nature and there is a lot I don't know, so perhaps it is there, but I need a little more guidance to sort it out. everything I have done so far is simply by trial and error.

For example, I can open an action file in text editor and understand what is the axis, time, and position of a bone and this made it easy to convert to what I needed. However, there are other tags in a model file I don't quite know what they all are and I would like to understand them more clearly to leverage for other conversions.

For example the following;

<SPLINE>
262145 0 1 -18.4294033 -2.04771137 0 . .
262145 0 9 24.2136593 -1.03441095 0 . .
</SPLINE>

creates a two point spline in a model file. what does the "262145" indicate? What does the "0" following it indicate? what does the ". ." at the end indicate?

Thanks for any help in parsing this out.

Charles

• clap 1

• Hash Fellow

Hi Charles,

Very cool stuff in that video! Very impressive all around.

I recall doing some slight investigation these numbers...

The first number seems to contain flags about properties of the CP.  It may be a binary number with on-off flags.

The last digit indicates peaked/not peaked

the dot dot is a placeholder for CP bias info when there is none

image.png

• Hash Fellow

262145 in binary is

0100 0000 0000 0000 0001