Hash, Inc. Forums
robcat2075

C++ study group weekly discussion thread

May Day! May Day! May 1 is coming

Let's get started!

For you to do before our first meeting (Time to be decided)

• get your account set up at Udemy.com
  • Register for the free course "C++ Tutorial for Complete Beginners" taught by John Purcell
  • Watch Lecture  "Introducing C++"
  • Read slide  "Screen Resolution"
  • Watch lecture "Setup and installation" (we will make a decision shortly about what to install)

Use the above lecture watching to find and understand the Udemy interface for chapter selection, subtitles ON/OFF, book marking, asking questions...

Checking in and up to speed on instructions thus far.

Curious about what we'll standardize on for compiler and IDE.  :)

I had complete success in installing Visual Studio 2015.

I have had zero success in getting it to work. I'm hoping Paul can tell me what I'm doing wrong tonight.

Our meeting is at 10pm Central time.

At the meeting Thursday night we resolved to pursue Visual Studio 2019 as our platform. If you don't have it installed, get it! That includes me.

Assignment:

• Get VS 2019 Community edition
  • watch section 4 (Hello World) of course
  • Test your install of VS by compiling (F5) the VS's default "console application" project
  • Make your own "Hello World" program based on the instructor's model in the lecture

Screen caps of my Visual Studio install

Choose Community edition:
01 VS 2019 DL site.JPG

Click through this screen:

02 VS 2019 Install.JPG

This download is for the actual installer:

03 VS 2019 Downloading.JPG

Here we get to Choose "Desktop development with C++". I believe that is the only thing you need to check:
04 VS 2019 desktopDevCpp.JPG

The download is long so don't let your computer go to sleep.

05 VS 2019 more DL.JPG

For Development Settings choose "Visual C++", then "Start Visual Studio":

06 VS 2019 SetupCpp.JPG

Choose "Create a new project":

07 VS 2019 Choose New.JPG