Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Story Write your self or buy ?

tbenefi33

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There was this forum I found once, indietalk http://www.indietalk.com/ and I'm pretty sure they had stories that people could use. You could always try writing a story and having us look it over or perhaps even one of us (assuming somebody wants to and has time) write one for you.

Sometimes a simple Google search works too, just look up free stories in the genre or subject you want

Hey guys, long time no see!

I just want to encourage tbenefi33 to take the "write it yourself" approach. And I will tell you why.

I work in the animation industry and for many years I was married to a story artist who worked on a LOT of animated films at major studios and also taught the freshman and upper level story classes at California Institute of the Arts, (CalArts). This is a school that is known for turning out many of the animation professionals in the industry here in Los Angeles and I just tell you that so that you know that she has chops.

She would love it when people like you were in class. They would let her help them avoid mistakes, take on challenges but not overwhelm themselves and, most importantly, finish the films that they started.

The fact that you don't think that you can write will save you from getting attached to something weird, too hard or just plain awful.

You are likely to listen when people say things like, "Are you sure that you want to set your piece at the superbowl? Won't those crowd shots be hard?" or "You really want to do a 30 min piece with a cast of twenty who are on screen 80% of the time?"

I bet that you will listen when people say things like, "Even if your character is just putting a stamp on an envelope we will care if we have some idea of who she is."

Also I don't think anyone here would let you get started without knowing your beginning, middle and end; the major downfall of many student films.