Hash, Inc. Forums

how do you achieve that glossy/reflective look?

new guy

Hi Everyone!

I've attached the project to a certain look I'm trying to get. Also attached a jpeg as to the look I'm trying to get. Looks like reflections from the ground and sky, but I tried that and it just didn't work. Sucks being a newbie. :(

I've tried numerous things and nothing seems to work. If anyone has time and wants to take a crack at it, please do so. You guys can use these files for anything you like. In fact, I insist. :)

The project has the models and chor with movements already in place, just need to figure out the "glossy-reflective" look.

Thanks in advance!

post-12905-1266160772_thumb.jpg

glossy_reflections.zip

i'm no expert, but you might wanna look into specular decal maps, that might help get the specific shapes you're looking for

it's a reflection. You can give it with a reflective spherical map or with a sphere around you model. It is not dificult to do. Your model reflect an other white model.

Took a look at your project...

There's many ways to accomplish that look...environment maps...matcap shaders...OR, as I am trying in the attached prj... turning ON reflections for the models and then giving them something to reflect. I did that simply by placing a sky image (you can replace) into the choreography just behind the camera.

Let me know if that gets you going in the right direction.

reflectionB.zip

039matt_horciel.jpg

• Hash Fellow

There are some important differences between your model and the sample you show.

Theirs is all rounded surfaces which makes it easy reflect the surroundings. Yours is mostly flat surfaces which have to be precisely aimed to catch reflection.

Their objects are very black which makes it easy to see reflections on it. Yours is grey, the bright surface competes with any reflections it catches.