Hash, Inc. - Animation:Master

Getting Through the door excersise, my first attempt

Hello,

I'm new to this and I'm forcing myself to go through the tutorials to learn what I need to.. I have bought Animation master to create a specific animation so I'm always itching to go ahead of myself, but that is NOT a good idea since I'm no artist and have only animated using 2D and flash before.

So I thought I'd post my very first attempt at the walking through the door excersise. There are a few things wrong with it, firstly I'd like to say I would like this to last longer than 5 seconds, thats just not enough time to convey what we're doing on this excersize.

After making it I really see the advantages of storyboarding the animation properly beforehand because I didn't leave enough time at the end of the animation to show he successfully walked through the door.

I also notice I forgot to keyframe the door shut before opening it at the end so it starts opening too early.

Is there any way I could at every keyframe make sure that EVERYTHING stays put, because If I move a bone that I haven't moved before it will start that movement from the beginning of the sequence and slowly translate it, is this a bad practice?

anyway attached is my abortion,.... I mean animation.

C

Doorstuck.wmv

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Ah right, ok I'll see if I can do a conversion, I found A:M some years ago after I saw the classic Killer Bean, but I couldn't afford it and haven't been able to since now we have A:M subscription.

I have been looking to do some 3d animating for years now but hadn't found anything that would do what I wanted how I wanted.

Out of interest what is comic con?

• Hash Fellow

Comicon = large convention of sweaty, be-costumed comic book and fantasy fans in San Diego.

I think your animation hit most of the main points for that exercise.