Hash, Inc. Forums

My Very First 3D character

GraphicAnime

This is my first time modeling a complete 3D figure. [b]The Hair is fixed! Disregard the Topic description [/b] :D Here are some sample renderings of my project. I am at intermediate level with A:M The scene with the buildings was giving me some problems. I was using a streaking particle system. I wanted to create some kind of electrical force field around the building with the big orb. When I rendered it, it kept on crashing. There was some kind of bug in the streak particle system in some of the frames.I think I will keep it simple. Does anyone have tips on creating a good looking and simple force field?

Edited by DigiAnimeGirl

Your normals are probably backwards for those 5-point patches. To see the normals hit Shift+1. You will see yellow arrows coming from each patch. All of these arrows should face outwards. If they don't on your 5-point patches select the cps that make up the patch, right-click and select "Flip Normal" from the list of options. This should put your hair back to normal. Make sure to refresh your screen (Spacebar).

Thanks For the replies. I am doing this for a school project. It is an independent studies project for Multimedia Computer Science. I was in a rush to model the character and buildings, so I can get into animating right away. There are still some things I am not sure how to do in A:M. I'm still learning about this product. I first bought A:M 2003 in February, 2003. I am still trying to figure out how to use the different constraint. When modeling a character's body, is there a [b]specific number[/b] of splines that are needed for animating? Thank You, :P