Hash, Inc. Forums

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Steve Pfann Jr.

Torque Game Engine Buildings

Hello fellow A:M Users,

I have been using A:M for several years now. Recently I have been considering buying the Torque Game Engine and import my models into it. I've seen this done before in pics posted in the forums and the results look great. However I have only seen this done for vehicles and characters while my focus is on buildings. I have worked on recreating an accurate representation of a rather large complex from about 2000 years ago, and I was hoping I could export it to Torque. I was wondering if anyone had any succcess with their A:M buildings in Torque and if they could give me some advice on the subject.

Additionally, from what I understand,Torque supports "portalizing", that is merging a Terrain map and seperate building interiors to work as a single world. Can this be done with buildings from A:M?

Thanks in advance,

Steve Jr.

I wouldn't recommend modeling buildings and structures in Hash. Your Frame rate would take a massive hit if you introduced an entire structure as a "DTS" file. The engine is designed for using ".dif" files that can be created in programs like Quark army knife. The interior code for Torque is impressive and allows for entering and exitng buildings without "zoning".