Hash, Inc. Forums

AM Books - what's still needed?

GKennedy

Hello,

I'm an editor at Focal Press, a leading media technology publisher, working on our graphics and animation list.

I'm just looking at the current books on AM and there seem to be very few - I could just see 'The Animation : Master 2000 Handbook' by Jeff Paries and 'Animation:Master 2002: A Complete Guide' by David Rogers. Both these seem to be quite comprehensive, beginner/intermediate guides to the program weighing in at more than 500 pages.

Do these books, along with the manual and these forums, cover most people's needs or do you perceive a need for something else... if so, what would you like to see?

I'd really appreciate any thoughts on this.

Thanks!

Georgia

Great to see you interested! You might post on the main forum to get more responses.

But yeah, that seems to be the size of it regarding books for AM. I have to say I believe there's a market for another one as the last one was for v11 (tech reference). There have been alot of changes since then. If you get a book out there for AM, then there's very little competition at the moment.

Apparently AM sells to more people than any other 3D program. If you were to maybe sell at the trade shows that Hash attend/do a discount deal with sales of AM etc I'm sure you'd be onto a winner. People like to have a book in front of them.

PS I see you publish 3D World Magazine. Cool.

• Admin

Georgia,

While I would imagine you might find requests for more detailed solutions to modeling and animating in Animation:Master here in the forum I think the real untapped market in bookstores across the nation is an introductory book on 3D animation. This could perhaps extend internationally too but I can't really say for sure as I have no way of knowing.

What I mean is that there is a big interest in Japanese Anime, Comics (less so than Anime these days) and drawing. This is escpecially true of the "How to" variety.