Hash, Inc. Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Heiner

Using AM and MMF to make an Adventure game?

A question for all the AMers out there who are using mmf: Could a adventure game be made with mmf? Would it be easy? If yes, how professional could it be?

I am looking for features like shrinking charakters which walk into the distance, graphics in the foreground, which cover the characters. Multiple scenes, cutscenes etc.

Regards,

Heiner

Could a adventure game be made with mmf? Would it be easy? If yes, how professional could it be?

Yes. All things are relative, the programming/authoring would be relatively easy ie I could do it in MMF and I'm not a programmer. It could be pretty professional, but not truly cutting edge. It's still a hell of a lot of work in the design, animation and conception stages.

I am looking for features like shrinking charakters which walk into the distance, graphics in the foreground, which cover the characters. Multiple scenes, cutscenes etc.

You can have shrinking characters, but I think it's a relatively high cpu hit. If they are not controlled a prerendered animation of them walking into the distance would be easier. Foreground objects, multiple scenes, and cut scenes are easy. Isometric and platform style movement is easy, and possibly better suited to the MMF engine.

A top down or Isometric RPG would be relatively easy to do using MMF. I don't really know what you mean by characters shrinking in the distance unless you are speaking of a First Person view. My 2 week experience with MMF so far has led me to the conclusion that it is great for a 2D sprite engine but would be weak for 3D first person games. You can do them but they will not have the look of one created in Torque, Ogre, A6 or one of the other 3D engines.